Fair and Breezy
46°FFair and BreezyFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Mustang girls claim another team championship at Chariton

Published: Wednesday, Oct. 4, 2017 12:17 p.m. CST • Updated: Wednesday, Oct. 4, 2017 12:20 p.m. CST
(Troy Hyde/Prairie City News)
PCM junior Megan Townley finished ninth at the Chariton Invitational on Sept. 28.

CHARITON — With four runners in the top 10, the Class 2A No. 15 PCM girls’ cross country team won its fourth team championship of the season on Sept. 28.

The Mustangs scored 56 points and defeated runner-up and host Chariton by 10. The Chargers placed two in the top five, but PCM’s first four went 6-7-9-10.

Senior Baylee Smith led the Mustangs for the first time this season. She was sixth, while junior Kirstin Ives finished seventh, junior Megan Townley was ninth and sophomore Klaire Jungling crossed the finish line in 10th.

In the boys’ race, sophomore Jason Stafford led the Mustangs with a 14th-place finish. PCM was eighth overall in the 13-team field.

Smith was 8 seconds faster than her teammate as she finished in 22 minutes, 50.84 seconds. Ives was next in seventh in 22:58.74.

Townley and Jungling came in 22 seconds later and were separated by 2 seconds.

After PCM (56) and Chariton (66) was Davis County (85) in third. East Union (125) and Clarke (126) rounded out the top five of a nine-team field.

Stafford was clocked at 18:56.28 to lead the Mustangs in the boys’ 5K race. Freshman Beau Webb was 25th overall with a time of 19:59.24.

Des Moines Christian won the boys’ team title with 49 points. The next best team was Pella Christian, which finished with 86 points. PCM was eighth with 208 points.

The Mustangs run at 4:30 p.m. Monday in Norwalk.

Here are the results for both PCM teams for the Chariton Invitational:


PCM — 6. Baylee Smith, 22:50.84; 7. Kiristin Ives, 22:58.74; 9. Megan Townley, 23:20.90; 10. Klaire Jungling, 23:22.87; 47. Morgan Uhlenhopp, 26:55.65; 70. Katie Henkenius, 30:53.79; 71. Maddy Buys, 31:29.44.


PCM — 14. Jason Stafford, 18:56.28; 25. Beau Webb, 19:59.24; 45. Brady North, 20:44.94; 70. Cody Courtney, 21:53.07; 80. Jacob Cox, 22:19.88; 90. Ayrton Breckenridge, 22:48.22; 92. Caleb Peter, 22:55.87; 97. Brenden Vanderpool, 23:08.91; 105. Carson Clark, 23:40.48; 106. Mason Shirk, 23:46.23; 109. Dylan Masterson, 23:51.98; 114. Bradley McClellan, 24:19.35; 128. Garrett Graber, 25:04.35; 129. Colton St. Pierre, 25:05.64; 137. Cooper VandeLune, 25:53.91; 141. Luke Kramer, 26:09.61; 150. Payton Konek, 27:57.37.

More News

National video